Skip to main content

News & Events


Foundation Presents Excellence in Teaching Awards

photo of award recipients

Redefining excellence. That's what these teachers are doing every day. 

The Foundation is proud to honor this year’s recipients of our “teacher of the year” awards.

This year's recipient of the James and Georgia Nicholas Endowed Award for Math, Science and Technology is high school math teacher Elisha Murphy.

The secondary and elementary level recipients of our Excellence in Teaching Awards are high school social studies teacher Tad VandenBrink, Breton Downs third grade teacher Jenny Bergstrom, and Breton Downs kindergarten and former special education teacher Nicole Vanderplow.

Congratulations to all! It’s an amazing achievement to be singled out among such an incredible group of teachers.


  • Ray and Kristin Abraham
    Ray and Kristin Abraham
  • The Adamy Family
  • Sue and Marty Allen
  • The Bissell/Kruer Family
    The Bissell/Kruer Family
  • Dennis and Jennifer Bruce
    Dennis and Jennifer Bruce
  • Jason and Elizabeth Christopherson
  • Pat Connor
    Pat Connor
  • Nancy Cook
  • Damian and Sara deGoa
    Damian and Sara deGoa
  • Rick and Carol Godfrey
  • John and Deanna Green
  • The Iakiri Family
    The Iakiri Family
  • KV and Jena Lacks
  • Steve and Jenny McMahon
  • Dave Mehney
    Dave Mehney
  • Matthew Richenthal
    Matthew Richenthal
  • Elaine Rongey
  • Beth Wells Skaggs
    Beth Wells Skaggs
  • Abby and Rich Sorota
  • Nick Thole and Amy Turner-Thole
    Nick Thole and Amy Turner-Thole
  • Charley and Janine Thompson
    Charley and Janine Thompson