Skip to main content

Matt F. Fouch Scholarship of Character

Student Scholarships

The Matt F. Fouch Scholarship of Character was established in 2020 by his wife, Jill and children, Jake, Maddie and Zac, as a way to celebrate Matt’s life commitment to shaping the lives of young people in East Grand Rapids both in the classroom and on the field. This scholarship honors the character of Matt Fouch by celebrating those who are a “good guy to all,” “do the right thing when no one is watching,” and are committed to kindness and others in their school and community.

This memorial scholarship was established after his battle with cancer and passing in December 2019. The establishment of the scholarship will celebrate and thank Matt for his 21 years of service in the math classrooms at the Middle School and for his 23 years of coaching football and three years of coaching golf at East Grand Rapids Public Schools.

The scholarship is given annually to one or more graduating seniors in the East Grand Rapids Public Schools District to be used for post-secondary educational opportunities. Nominations will be accepted from EGRPS staff, students, parents or community members. The deadline for submission is the first Monday in May. The recipient(s) will be recognized at the EGRPS Senior Honors Assembly in May each year.

This scholarship is inclusive in all aspects and does not discriminate based on race, color, national origin, gender or gender identity, sexual orientation, age, disability, or religion.

Criteria and Considerations. 

The Matt F. Fouch Scholarship of Character is awarded annually to one or more graduating seniors who exhibit many of the following qualities or attributes:

  • Kind and accepting of all students and adults
  • High moral character
  • Well-rounded 
  • Leader, quietly or overtly
  • Inclusive of others in the classroom and in extra-curricular activities
  • Involved in extra-curricular activities
  • Successful and driven to succeed in areas of interest whether academic, athletic, performing arts, community or peer relationships

The amount of the scholarship will be up to $1,000 or the amount available based on the “fund availability amount” procedure followed by the Foundation.

Nominations are due by May 6.

  • Ray and Kristin Abraham
    Ray and Kristin Abraham
  • The Adamy Family
  • Marty and Sue Allen
  • Dennis and Jennifer Bruce
    Dennis and Jennifer Bruce
  • Nancy Cook
  • Damian and Sara deGoa
    Damian and Sara deGoa
  • Rick and Carol Godfrey
  • Cynthia Daverman Gompers
  • Mark and Beth Hoekstra
  • The Iakiri Family
    The Iakiri Family
  • KV and Jena Lacks
  • Joe and Katy Levan
  • Steve and Jenny McMahon
  • Steve and Katie Millman
  • Elaine Rongey
  • Brian Schwartz and Elizabeth Welch
    Brian Schwartz and Elizabeth Welch
  • Beth Skaggs
    Beth Skaggs
  • Abby and Rich Sorota
  • Nick Thole and Amy Turner-Thole
    Nick Thole and Amy Turner-Thole
  • Chris an Sarah VanDeven
  • Christopherson Orthodontics
    Christopherson Orthodontics